Expiration Dates

Last night I gave a retreat on the Gifts of the Holy Spirit to 78 eighth graders and their parents.  What at treat for me!  These teens are so serious about their faith…  I have been working with children for a very long time and each year the group has a different ‘personality’.  This particular group is commited and throughout this year I have seen and read so many inspiring tidbits.  I know, without a doubt, that the Holy Spirit is at work here and I am quite confident that they will continue to “go and make disciples of all nations….”

I asked the students to to write one sentence about their faith – I can’t wait to read them all today, but as I was packing up last night, I glanced at the sheet on top.  Here is what it read:

“My faith has no expiration date”

Wow, wow, wow – no wonder Jesus proclaimed that the ‘kingdom of God belongs to these….’

2 thoughts on “Expiration Dates

  1. Andie, thanks for sharing this with us. I am in awe when young people express themselves so deeply. Their faith increases my faith. God bless you for what you do because I know that your faith increases their faith.

Leave a Reply

